It was so much more than baby weight!

When I was pregnant  with my first child I started out at 160 pounds, by her birth I was 220 pounds. Since unlike elephants we are not pregnant for years before we give birth, that was a heck of a lot of weight in a short period of time. I had watched what I ate, exercised everyday plus walked our dog daily. I did not look how I thought I would. I had pictured a baby bump some water weight but not to be swollen to the point my creases had creases.

The only thing I had done differently was I had added milk although lactose free back into my diet, as well cheese and yogurt. Hey I was building a baby, calcium was important, I drank lactose free milk because at the time all I knew was I had lactose intolerance.

After her delivery I could not lose the weight. As I have mentioned before I worked out daily, walked the dog daily and still the lowest I got was 205. I got pregnant again and by delivery date I had gone up to 260 pounds. I was discouraged, but knew there was something wrong and had to figure it out.

Last January is when things began to shift. I got off medication that I did not need and things began to shift. In June I began the diet elimination and the weight began to come off. So as we stand today I am down 70 pounds! WoooHoooo!!! It has taken me 3.5 years to get below 200 pounds. Not because I didn’t exercise, or watch what I ate but because of medication and allergies. That is so HUGE!!

For years I had been beating myself up because I was not seeing any results. Thank goodness I am a fighter, pair that with prayer and determination, well I am so thankful to not have given up! I still have a ways to go but I am over half way there and so very thankful!!

So if you can’t lose the weight, you are watching what you eat, I strongly encourage you to look at the possibilities of allergies, sensitivities and intolerance’s. There is no way I am the only one experiencing this and I am here to tell you to never give up!!!!

Image

(Taken Fall 2012 – my reasons for Food Fueled)

Leave a Reply

